Please find the jury dates and deadlines for online registration and file submission in the table overview below. Only if you are selected and contacted by the VITO co-promotor (who is mentioned below the job description), you will be invited to prepare your PhD file.

+32 14 33 55 47
Dates PhD jury 2021 Deadline candidate registration Deadline file submission
20/10/2021 (cancelled) 23/08/2021 (cancelled) 04/10/2021 (cancelled)
 25/11/2021 25/09/2021 08/11/2021
Dates PhD jury 2022

 

 
09/03/2022 17/01/2022 21/02/2022
28/09/2022 01/08/2022 12/09/2022
26/10/2022 05/09/2022 10/10/2022

The jury evaluates whether:

  • the PhD is consistent with the VITO research strategy
  • the PhD plan is of high quality
  • the applicant is qualified to carry out his/her PhD successfully

 

Presentation of jury members

Chairman: Prof. dr. ir. Luc Sterckx

Master in Chemical Engineering, KU Leuven
PhD in Chemical Engineering, KU Leuven
Postgraduate Business Administration, ULB Solvay                                                                     

KU Leuven, Faculty of Engineering
Willem de Croylaan 46 - Box 2423
B-3001 Heverlee (BE)
Tel. +32 16 32 23 48 | Mob. +32 475 52 90 20
E-mail: luc.sterckx@cit.kuleuven.be

Prof. dr. Ronny Blust

Master in Biology, University of Antwerp
PhD Biology, University of Antwerp

Vice-rector Research, University of Antwerp
Department of Biology, Sphere research unit,
Middelheim 1, 2020 Antwerpen
Tel. +32 3 265 3002 | Mob. +32 485 028 317
E-mail: ronny.blust@uantwerpen.be

Dr. Marleen Esprit

Dr.Sc. (Analytical Chemistry), UGent

Director Hydrometallurgy in Corporate R&D
Umicore
Watertorenstraat 33
2250 Olen (BE)
Tel. +32 14 24 48 15 | Mob. +32 477 70 77 37
E-mail: marleen.esprit@umicore.com

Prof. dr. Jef Hooyberghs

PhD in Physics, UHasselt
Master in Physics, KU Leuven

Visiting Professor - UHasselt
Programme Manager at VITO
Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol (BE)
Tel. +32 14 33 52 77 | Mob. +32 485 39 26 70
E-mail: jef.hooyberghs@vito.be

Em. Prof. dr. Paul Janssen

Master in Mathematics, KU Leuven
PhD in Statistics, KU Leuven/UHasselt

UHasselt, Campus Diepenbeek
Agoralaan Gebouw D, 3590 Diepenbeek (BE)
Tel. +32 11 26 82 36 | Mob. +32 484 71 98 99
E-mail: paul.janssen@uhasselt.be

Dr. Luc Peeters

Master in Chemistry, UAntwerpen
PhD in Science, UAntwerpen

R&D Manager
Performance Polymers Solutions Vehicle
Kaneka Belgium N.V.
Nijverheidsstraat 16, 2260 Oevel (BE)
Tel. +32 14 25 78 90 | Mob. +32 479 98 99 35
E-mail: luc.peeters@kaneka.be

Prof. dr. ir. Piet Seuntjens

Master in Chemistry and Bio-industries Engineering, UGent
PhD in Sciences, UAntwerpen
Postdoctoral fellow at ETH Zürich

Visiting Professor – UAntwerpen en UGent
Innovation Manager at VITO
Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol (BE)
Tel. +32 14 33 67 83 | Mob. +32 493 51 42 79
E-mail: piet.seuntjens@vito.be 

Em. Prof. dr. ir. Bruno Van Mele

Master in Chemical Engineering, VUB
PhD in Applied Sciences, VUB

Research Group Physical Chemistry and Polymer Science
Department Materials and Chemistry, VUB
Pleinlaan 2, 1050 Brussels (BE)
Tel. +32 2 629 32 76
E-mail: bvmele@vub.be