Please find the jury dates and deadlines for online registration and file submission in the table overview below. Only if you are selected and contacted by the VITO co-promotor (who is mentioned below the job description), you will be invited to prepare your PhD file.

+32 14 33 55 47
Overview planned PhD juries Deadline candidate application Deadline file submission
01/03/2023 02/01/2023 13/02/2023
26/05/2023 29/03/2023 10/05/2023
27/09/2023 31/07/2023 11/09/2023
17/11/2023 20/09/2023 25/10/2023

The jury evaluates whether:

  • the PhD is consistent with the VITO research strategy
  • the PhD plan is of high quality
  • the applicant is qualified to carry out his/her PhD successfully

 

Presentation of jury members

Chairman: Prof. dr. ir. Luc Sterckx

Master in Chemical Engineering, KU Leuven
PhD in Chemical Engineering, KU Leuven
Postgraduate Business Administration, ULB Solvay                                                                     

KU Leuven, Faculty of Engineering
Willem de Croylaan 46 - Box 2423
B-3001 Heverlee (BE)
E-mail: luc.sterckx@cit.kuleuven.be

Prof. dr. Ronny Blust

Master in Biology, University of Antwerp
PhD Biology, University of Antwerp

Vice-rector Research, University of Antwerp
Department of Biology, Sphere research unit,
Middelheim 1, 2020 Antwerpen
E-mail: ronny.blust@uantwerpen.be

Prof. dr. Jef Hooyberghs

PhD in Physics, UHasselt
Master in Physics, KU Leuven

Professor – Hasselt University
Data Science Institute
Campus Diepenbeek, 3590 Diepenbeek (BE)
E-mail: jef.hooyberghs@uhasselt.be

Em. Prof. dr. Paul Janssen

Master in Mathematics, KU Leuven
PhD in Statistics, KU Leuven/UHasselt

UHasselt, Campus Diepenbeek
Agoralaan Gebouw D, 3590 Diepenbeek (BE)
E-mail: paul.janssen@uhasselt.be

Dr. Luc Peeters

Master in Chemistry, UAntwerpen
PhD in Science, UAntwerpen

R&D Manager
Performance Polymers Solutions Vehicle
Kaneka Belgium N.V.
Nijverheidsstraat 16, 2260 Oevel (BE)
E-mail: luc.peeters@kaneka.be

Prof. dr. ir. Piet Seuntjens

Master in Chemistry and Bio-industries Engineering, UGent
PhD in Sciences, UAntwerpen
Postdoctoral fellow at ETH Zürich

Visiting Professor – UAntwerpen en UGent
Innovation Manager at VITO
Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol (BE)
E-mail: piet.seuntjens@vito.be 

Em. Prof. dr. ir. Bruno Van Mele

Master in Chemical Engineering, VUB
PhD in Applied Sciences, VUB

Research Group Physical Chemistry and Polymer Science
Department Materials and Chemistry, VUB
Pleinlaan 2, 1050 Brussels (BE)
E-mail: bvmele@vub.be

Prof. dr. Luc Int Panis

Master degree in Biology UAntwerpen
PhD in Sciences, UAntwerpen

Visiting Professor - UHasselt
Staf management Walter Eevers at VITO
Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol (BE)
E-mail: luc.intpanis@vito.be / luc.intpanis@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Inge Mertens

Master in Biochemistry, KU Leuven
PhD in Biochemistry, KU Leuven

Research Professor (hoofddocent) – University of Antwerp
R&D Professional at VITO Health
Boeretang 200, 2400 Mol (BE)
E-mail: inge.mertens@vito.be

Dr. ir. Jan Luyten

Master in Engineering Sciences: Chemical Technology, KU Leuven
PhD in Engineering Sciences: Chemical Technology, KU Leuven

Principal Scientist Recycling and Extraction Technologies
Umicore, Corporate Research & Development
Watertorenstraat 33, 2250 Olen (BE)
E-mail: Jan.Luyten@eu.umicore.com