On 16 November 2017, François De Schutter, David Lagrou and Dries Vos (Ben Laenen could not make it) received the Eos public’s choice award for science communication. They were awarded this prize for the musical ontSTEMd and the experience days on the Balmatt site in Mol. With no less than 20 % of the votes, they were the clear winner.


The professional jury of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium (KVAB), the Young Academy, the FWO and VLIR-UOS was also impressed. They awarded the STEM Geothermal energy projects with a second place amongst 15 laureates. The star prize went to the citizen science project CurieuzeNeuzen, an initiative of the Ringland Academy in collaboration with researchers from VUB, UAntwerpen and the Research Institute for Work and Society of KU Leuven. Prof. Filip Lardon (UAntwerpen) received the 2017 science communication career award for his long-standing commitment in tackling the problem of smoking at source, especially with young people.

Big thanks to all who voted for VITO! And congratulations to Ben Laenen, François De Schutter, David Lagrou, Dries Vos and our partners, GoodPlanet, KOGEKA, Luc Stevens Productions, Province of Antwerp, the Flemish Government and VOKA Kempen.

+32 14 33 55 53